load data and advice for 180 Bergers

Boatracer

I have been shooting the STW for near 15 years mine loves 140 nosler CT but am planning on elk hunting next year and will need more weight and a non ballistic tip for larger game whay say you

Mine shoots good around 72gr of 7828 SSC with Nosler brass, 215M primers, and Berger 180 Hybrids. This is not a max load in my rifle, but just a really good shooting one. And it pushes the 180 Hybrids right at 3,000 fps MV.

But as we all know, every rifle is different. There was another guy who posted up on here that his also shot well with the same exact load as my rifle. So, maybe we found a good accuracy node right at 3,000 fps?

As always, work up to find your best/max load in your own rifle.

Hope this helps.

Thanks Mudrunner will load a few and see if the old girl likes them. My 140 grain load is 79.5 of H4831 SC

I wouldn't start there, I'd start around 70 and work up to ensure you're not overpressured right from the start.

BTW, I got my Sendero SF 7STW new in 2002, so we've had them about the same.

I am that guy...

I run 180 VLD-H over 71.5 grains of regular 7828 through a 26 inch Lilja 9 twist in Nosler brass with 215M primer and clock at 2980fps. Shoots sub 0.5 MOA out to 600. Shot a 200 yard bughole this fall when checking my setup for elk and deer hunts and smoked a decent Whitetail buck at 580 yards this year. It is hard to want to monkey with this load.

For something to do, I will be trying RL-33 in it this summer just to see if I can kick the velocity up a bit and keep similar accuracy.

My Sendero likes 78 Gr of Retumbo with Fed215 and Nosler Brass. COL = 3.841 or .020 OTL. I have validated the speed to be just around 3032 with drops out to 1000. Shots .5 MOA out to 500 consistently. Most accurate gun and load I have ever shot and it repeats over and over. I started at 74.5 grains and ran into pressure (bolt lift) at 79 grains.