Interesting results from cleaning my barrel at the range.

engineer40

Like most of you here, I was taught growing up that you never put a gun away without cleaning it. So I've always been religious about cleaning my guns after shooting.

5-6 months ago I started learning about the benefits of your barrel reaching a copper equilibrium and not cleaning until your accuracy starts to suffer. And that any primers or powders made within the last few decades are not corrosive and will not harm your barrel if left uncleaned.

I've been trying that newer methodology with my 30-06. The top left 5 shots are not horrible (still under an inch), but I have done better with this gun and this ammo. I have around 200ish rounds through the rifle since it was last cleaned.

So as a test I cleaned the barrel at the range and shot 5 more rounds at a different point on the same target. Those would be the bottom right holes. I did run 3 dry rags through the barrel to make sure all of the cleaning solvent was out.

It is very interesting to me how far off that first shot was! I mean this is only 100 yards. At 200-300 yards that would have been 4-7 inches off point of aim just because the barrel was clean!

I've known about clean barrels having a different POI for a long time. I guess I've just never proved it to myself until today and it really surprised me how much a difference it really does make.

I'll never go hunting with a clean barrel ever again!

I labeled shots 1 and 2. Then you can see shots 3, 4, and 5 were stacked right on top of each other.

IMG_20150917_120956_906.jpg

Very nicely done. I think we all know not to go to the field with a clean barrel, but I had no idea how dramatic the effect could be.
Thanks
SNT