Help me figure out why I'm blowing primers

smithjasona1978

So first I'm a noob. Not new to shooting just to reloading. I need help understanding my cartridge max overall length and the impact it has on pressure. I have a new Weatherby vanguard in. 300WBY mag. I have been shooting factory ammo in it until recently. Now I'm ready to start reloading. And my question is what should my oal be? I have a huge amount of length to play with. I can go from factory oal all the way up to 4.0 inches. 4.0 is my rifle using Hornady 208 grain eld-x touching the lands. Remember Weatherby freebore. Max I can load and have caliber diameter in the case neck is 3.85. So that still leaves me roughly a quarter inch of length to play with. And I am Also a speed freak. I want as much velocity as I can get. So should I just find the most accurate load that I can starting at the 3.85 and work incrementally shorter until I find the most accurate load? I need a starting point. I did my first round of load development at 3.75. But my manual has the length at 3.56. And the differnce in length has caused me to blow 2 primers.

Last edited:
That's a good starting point. If you have a chronograph, Lots of folks start with all seated at the same depth which they choose based on experience. Then shoot for the most consistent velocity, that settles what charge weight to use. The go back to seating depth in start as far out as you can and work back in increments of .002 or .005 .020 whatever you want to fine tune your group size.

That's a good starting point. If you have a chronograph, Lots of folks start with all seated at the same depth which they choose based on experience. Then shoot for the most consistent velocity, that settles what charge weight to use. The go back to seating depth in start as far out as you can and work back in increments of .002 or .005 .020 whatever you want to fine tune your group size.