Getting in Hunting shape

73Buckmaster

I'm looking to go hunting out west in the future , but have been diagnosed with CMT a form of muscular dystrophy. I have lost a lot of strength in my legs. I now have to wear braces on my lower legs( help stop foot drop & helps with balance). Does anyone have some tips to help me to get back in shape. Because of my condition I can not run, stairs are a huge problem. With use of a walking stick I can climb hilly terrain. I'm not one to give up easily, hunting is my life.

I am no expert when it comes to the CMT that you are dealing with, but my first thought is to keep your training simple. Train like you plan to hunt and go on several hikes each week in the same type of terrain that you plan to hunt.

I would be very careful with any kind of exercises with weights, but you can still do a lot of good with body weight types of movements. Pushups work to strengthen your core. Air squats (squat motion down to parallel with no extra weight) are very effective especially when you work up to high reps each set. Walking lunges would also help, you could control how far down you go and you could use your walking sticks as well.

It would probably be very useful to talk to you doctor as well, or maybe a PT that specializes in the specifics of CMT.

Good luck!

I'm coming on to 60. Fused neck that needs another, scoliosis, replaced knee etc. Finally at a point in life where I have the time and resources to max out what I've got left.

I started with a Physical Therapist last year, about 3 months including a couple of set backs to get to a baseline enough to work from.

Another 3-4 months of personal trainer time, same guy different hat, he just got interested in the challenge.

Added another trainer about 3-4 months ago for 2 solid days of work.