Getting A Good First Rig

Longwaytilldo

Hey guys,

I've really enjoyed the knowlege everyone shares here. Well i'm getting started in this sport and I'm looking for a good first rig. This is what i have so far.

Rifle: Remington 700 VS Price: $550
Scope: Bushnell elite 3200 32-1040M Price: $200
Bipod: HBBR-S Price: $120

I'm looking to work my way up to the 1000yrd mark but I'm patient about how long that takes. Anyways, thats what i have so far as what I'm going to go for, but i'd like some thoughts on these choices while i save the $1000. I'm thinking most likely getting it in .308 I already have a Savage 110 in .270 as my bambi stick, but this rig i'm hoping will handle bigger game as well. I'm thinking about using it for game about elk size. I'm not experienced in larger game (just white tail so far) so consider me a novice. But feel free to go as technical as you wish and i'll just Google what i don't understand. Thanks a bunch!

First off , let me declair my loyalty for the 308 Winchester , I've shot this round for over 18 yrs and have killed tons of critters from gophers to a 588lb wild hog including my longest kill on a big game animal which is 618yds on a small deer. I've never lost an animal that I shot , BUT , I have passed on a few that would have been taken had I had a little more gun.

You base gun is a good start , it has a good stock and good action , but you diden't mention the caliber , if its a smaller cal then have the gun rebarrled. Having the action trued will run from $150-$250and the barrel installed will run about the same , the cost of the barrel will run you around $300. So lets say mid range @00 for the barrel and action work = $400 and the barrel cost = $300 so you still under $1000.