Gen2 Razor a long range beast

406precision

Well I finally got my hands on a 3x18x50 gen 2 mil-mil scope for my 338 lapua and thought that you guys might like to hear my initial impressions of the optic.

Now the disclaimer here is that I am just a shooter not a professional optics guru and I do not have a shed full of highly scientific machinery to use for reviews of optics.
I am however a long range shooter and instructor and have spent a lot of time behind a lot of different optics with the two God given instruments in my head.

That being said the gen 2 razor from vortex is about as nice of an optic as I have ever laid my grubby paws on. The first thing you notice when you get the package is that the scope is well protected and the box is well organized. The scope comes with a sunshade, a lens cloth, battery, and specialized tool for sighting in the scope and setting zero stop.

First impression when I took the scope out of the box was **** this thing is built like a tank...and I finally have something to beat my spotter over the head when he gives me the wrong damned wind call repeatedly!!! All kidding aside if your looking for a scope for a sheep hunt stop reading here.....this is a purpose built optic with a specific use in mind and that was long range precision shooting ...where the rifles usually have more than a little heft to them and the owners are generally more concerned with pin point accuracy than the slim profile of their rig.

Once I got the scope out of the box I ran to my special testing area (my back yard) and took a peak through the dang thing...my intial impression was holy Sh@T this thing looks awesome...but all glass looks good in backyard time to get this thing into the field and use it.

I got the scope mounted, leveled, properly torqued and the bubble level installed and headed out to the range. We are pretty spoiled to have a 2000 plus private range within minutes of the house..and it sure makes it nice for drops and data work for sure.