Fresh Water Sharks

Buffalobob

I have been canoeing on the river for a week and I got the opportunity to tell my favorite story. This story can only be told to a very polite adult during the hot part of the day while there are several boatloads of kids within hearing distance. The story is adaptable to any river so you can change the name of the city and the River.

ME: Hey John, look at that rock formation. Isn't it neat. I studied a little geology in college and I believe those rocks were formed during the Pleistocene era.

JOHN: Oh I don't know much geology.

ME: I don't either. I am an engineer but I have some geologists and fisheries biologist that work for me. In fact my chief fisheries biologist said that last year during the big flood on the James that the Richmond Aquarium was washed away and the last three freshwater sharks from the Pleistocene era got away.

John: I never heard about that.

ME: Well in my business it was big news because those were the only living fresh water sharks that have ever been discovered. Maybe you read about the night fisherman that disappeared last month down the river from here about a couple of miles?

John: No I can't recall that.

ME: Yeah. They found a few parts of one of them and there were bite marks so they got the Virginia Fish and Game to set out some big nets and they caught the smallest of the three freshwater sharks but the two big ones are still loose. We will probably see the Fish and Game biologists down here in the deep hole where they have their nets set out. My staff told me that the biggest shark is about fourteen and half feet long and has a 29 inch bite radius.

John: That interesting. Maybe when I get home I will look it up on the internet.

ME: Well, I am going to get my camera out in case they catch one of them as we paddle through the deep hole.

Know It All Kid: There is no such thing as a freshwater shark!