First long range build

I am new to the site but have been reading for a year or so and you guys seem to know what your talking about. I'm also new to long range shooting. I'm building a .300 win mag and thinking I will go with the Stiller tac 300, timney trigger, McMillan A-5, Badger rings. Still undecided on a barrel and who will put it all together for me. I'm in Louisiana and have heard good things about Louisiana Precision Rifles. Any thoughts or info would be appreciated.

Longrangesheriif,

William Roscoe is a good builder, I've known him through the internet since he got into this business. He used to hang out on Snipershide mostly before he got really busy and SH started charging for membership.

There are no secrets in this business, most of the new people who have entered into it have been trained by those of us (I'm not saying I trained William...) who have been in it for a long time. There's lots of work to be done and the more quality builders the better.

William is one of those who believes in customer service and that alone should encourage you to give him a call to discuss your project.

Best.

Personally, I think there are better triggers available for that Rem. 700 pattern action, unless you're looking at the Calvin Elite. They're not a Jewell, but they're darned close and a bit lower in price. I'm coming up on 4 months wait on a McMillan stock. My customer is getting "antcy", but I explained the wait time when we started.

Longrangesheriif,

Unless I'm just missing it, you haven't stated whether you want a hunting rifle or a target rifle or one for a combination of both.

The McM A5 is typically a tactical or target rifle although I've build quite a few for hunters who like the ergonomics of that stock. I prefer the A3 for hunting but again that's up to you. These stock can be found ready to ship on Mcmillan's 'special for sale' part of their website.

https://mcmillanusa.com/mcmillan-gunstock-specials/