Elk/Deer Caliber

paintballpaki

I'm brand new to the world of bolt action and have limited experience hunting anything outside of a blind. I am in the market for a new gun capable of hunting deer and elk. Fairly positive I'm gonna get a 700, the last thing is which model and caliber. At some point, I do want the ability to put a suppressor on there, and I'm pretty sure the SPS TAC AAC is the only one that comes with a threaded barrel. Let's say I went with another model, is that something that could be easily done by a smith for less than $300? i honestly have no idea. The other thing, is if I did go with the SPS TAC AAC, would you guys recommend i get the barrel floated? Any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks guys.

P.S. I searched the forum for a thread like this, couldn't really find anything good. if this is the wrong place, or there's a thread like this already, please point me in the right direction.

First things first, the permit for a suppressor will be $200. A lot of range in suppressor prices, and I have no experience with that. Threading the muzzle for a break is generally less than $150, a suppressor I would think similar.

There are a variety of rifle that come with the muzzle threaded these days. Remington you mentioned, Tikka, and Sako also. Choices kind of determined how much you're willing to invest

Right, i know the suppressor comes with a hefty price tag for both the stamp and the gear. that's something that would come over a year from now, so it's not my biggest concern i was just throwing that out there to give you an idea of where i wanted to go in the long run. i dont get off active duty till late next year and will be stuck in CA until then anyway, so no suppressor for at least that long.