EE Quilt vs Kuiu sleeping bag

I love my EE 20 revelation, I sleep on my side and find bags too confining. With a quilt you can vent if too warm, add an over quilt if to cold.

I have a 20 degree EE Quilt and the 15 degree Kuiu bag. Hands down prefer the quilt. The Kuiu is nice, but it is very restricting. Basically all I can do is lay on my back with my legs pinned together.

Re: EE Quilt vs Kuiu sleeping bag (BAG!)

A mummy bag is always more efficient for the weight than ANY quilt B/C quilts don't have hoods and are usually not mummy shaped to reduce the area needing to be heated by your body.

A mummy bag is always more efficient for the weight than ANY quilt B/C quilts don't have hoods and are usually not mummy shaped to reduce the area needing to be heated by your body.

I don't even know how to respond to this post, there is so much fail here. Have you used a EE quilt extensively in cold weather?

I don't even know how to respond to this post, there is so much fail here. Have you used a EE quilt extensively in cold weather?

I've been looking into quilts and this was a hesitation I had since I'm used to a mummy bag. Do you just pull the quilt over your head? Or just wear a warm hat and use the quilt like a blanket?

Thanks

I have a Hammock Gear 15 degree quilt and will also never go back to a mummy again. I'd always wake up to change positions in a mummy and now I can move around much easier and don't wake up nearly as much. I was very reluctant to switch so I tried unzipping my mummy bag similar to the quilt style and decided to do it and I'm glad I did.

I've used other backpacking quilts (Jacks R Better, etc.) But there is no disputing that mummy bags have far more thermal efficiency than quilts.

You may be warm enough in a quilt WITH proper headgear, you may be more comfortable in a quilt than a restrictive mummy bag but you will NOT be warmer in a quilt of the same total weight as a mummy bag. It ain't me saying' that, it's physics.