Custom Rifle from Sharp Shooter Supply

MarioT

Can someone give me help on what a great custom rifle would be from Sharp Shooter Supply? I want it in 30-06, with a good twist in the barrel and so on.

The reason I am asking for help is because I am new to this stuff and I want to just get some ideas from people that know about it. So what I ask is can some people or someone help me from part to part on what to buy and so on.

Thanks in advance,
Mario

Call the owner of SSS .

For a 30-06 a long action[blueprinted].
A trigger assembly.
Barrel and stock.
Scope and scope bases and rings.-Mike

Blueprinted means trued/straighten/squared, etc.

Those questions will get you going. The conversation will most probably get pretty lengthy and cover several sessions. That's the fun part....

Hmmm, good. Well i'm not going to do it now, I just wanted to get some info for when ever I do decide to do it.

Thanks for the help.

I have been playing and building a number of Savages/Stevens over the last couple of years and can offer these ideas. I assume that since you are using SSS that you are playing with a Savage.

If all you want is a 30-06 heavy barrel for moderate range shooting, find yourself a 112BVSS, bed it and you will have a 1/2MOA or better shooter with handloads. Personally, I would suggest a 7RM as the ballistics are head and shoulders over the 30-06.

If you need a custom, then start with a Stevens. Fred will adjust the timing on the bolt as this will make it easier to open. Very little if any work is needed on the action.

The traditional blueprinting does not really apply to the Savages as the floating bolt head ensures even contact between the lugs. From feedback I have read from smiths and from my own project rifles, the Savage actions come pretty straight out of the box anyways and any slop is taken care of by the bolt head.

Swap in a SSS trigger. These are very nice and can be tuned down to 12ozs. If you want lighter, go with a rifle basix 2.