Cleaning Tumbler and Pins

I just walk up to my target a poke it with a pen to get the groups I want, take a picture and show all my friends.
200yard fun on 2 year old beer…1click was center on the next one. That beer must have gone 10 feet in all directions…don't worry we drank the good stuff later.

Attachments

• FFA9C353-E0A5-4A55-864E-809693DD338B.jpeg
    FFA9C353-E0A5-4A55-864E-809693DD338B.jpeg
    748.1 KB · Views: 48
I've been tumbling brass for at least 10 years and only remember rinsing the media once. I've changed from pins to chips, they seem to do a better and faster job . I pour off most of the filthy water then separate the chips from the brass with a RCBS media separator. Triple rinse with water then soak brass in a bucket of Wash & Wax for about 5 minutes then triple rinse with water again. Without the Wash & Wax the brass would start to tarnish soon after tumbling. Mostly do range pickup or bulk purchased once fired brass after the primers are removed.
Please tell me the details of 'wash & wax'. What brand or kind do you use, and how much per batch of brass please?

dfraham,
I use Meguiar's Ultimate Wash & Wax. You could probably use Armor All, not sure if there is any difference between them.
I took a 5 gallon plastic bucket with a lid and put about 3 gallons of water and the entire bottle (48 ounces) of Meguiar's.
I put the triple rinsed brass in then swirl the brass around and let sit for a few minutes. I pour the majority of the W&W mix into another bucket, triple rinse the brass then pour the W&W mix into the bucket with a lid.
I've used the same bucket for years and just recently bought another bottle to add a little to the mix.
I tried using the W&W instead of Dawn but it seemed to take longer for the brass to get clean.
This has kept my brass from discoloring or tarnishing.

Last edited: