can I make 7mag brass out of 300wm brass?

GrayCreed

The question is just that!

Can I neck it down without a big shoulder bump/blowout problem?

I can find quality 300wm brass but can't find any 7mag brass except PPU brass....

Speaking of which...

What do you guys think of PPU brass?

What's better factory PPU brass or necked down Norma/Nosler brass (300wm-7mag)?

You can, it's the same head size. The necked down 300WM brass will likely have thicker necks, tho.

If you can find 264WM brass and neck up, that would be even easier.

Are you willing to turn necks? If not, it's probably more trouble than it's worth to make it out of 300WM brass, especially if you aren't experienced in reloading and case forming.

I have no experience with PPU brass, but I hear that it's quality is hit or miss (usually miss).

The question is just that!

Can I neck it down without a big shoulder bump/blowout problem?

I can find quality 300wm brass but can't find any 7mag brass except PPU brass....

Speaking of which...

What do you guys think of PPU brass?

What's better factory PPU brass or necked down Norma/Nosler brass (300wm-7mag)?
I have excellent luck with them on my .270 Win and currently using them on my .264 WM. "If" you're an average hunter like I am, then PPU will serve you well. 😇

My experience with PPU is all positive. It's perfectly usable brass that doesn't pretend to
be more what than it is price wise.

it is kinda soft compared to Winchester, not as soft as federal, but starts with tighter primer pockets than either to begin with. Does show pressure faster than Winchester or any of the pricier ones. Heavier than Winchester, less capacity. Biggest surprise to me is that it exhibited WAY more consistency (weight and neck concentricity) than Winchester, federal, Remington, or hornady.

if it's available and I needed brass I sure wouldn't turn up my nose at the stuff.