Broadheads for the Tac 15

chipper44

Been trying to find info on the a recommended broad head for my Tac 15, Hawk scope. Have some Rage Hypodermics that I haven't used yet. I'm worried about the Rage and others opening during flight with the speed on the Tac.

Thinking about NAP Bloodrunners 2 blade. Like the idea of them cutting whether they deploy or not. Just in case..

So what are you experts using or recommend. It's my first year with the Tac 15 and season opens in 3 weeks. Been shooting with the practice points. Time to get going with the broad heads for hunting. WI whitetails is all I'll be hunting.

Thanks guys.

Well I finally found what I was looking for. NAP Spitfire Killzone Crossbow broad heads.

No stupid collars, rubber bands or orings and are tested to 400 fps. I copied some info from the NAP website:

The new Killzone® Crossbow is a 2 blade rear-deploying broadhead that packs a devastating 2" cutting diameter and heavy-duty .039" blades for maximum durability. The field-point accurate Killzone® Crossbow uses NAP's unique spring-clip design which ensures your blades won't open in flight or in your quiver. There are no o-rings or rubber bands to worry about. Designed for use in crossbows up to 400 fps.

I've been using the G5 T3 crossbow mechanical broadhead with great success. It flies true and have not had any problem with them opening in flight.

I have used Grim Reaper xbow 1-1/2" for 3 seasons. I have no problems and the practice tips are shaped the same as when in flight. also the practice tips come out of targets well.

As powerful and hard hitting as TAC-15 arrows are, I think you could put a blunt tip on arrow, and still take a deer down. (Not that I would.)

Despite using NAPP MAXX with 1-3/4 inch cut, the arrows from TAC-15 blow through deer like shooting through couple layers of cardboard. Virtually every time, arrow ends up buried in ground.