Bench shooting

Russell123523

The last 5 years I've been using a Caldwell solo rest at the bench and I recently purchased a Remington awr 300 rum worked up a good load with n570 and 225 eldm which I was shooting off the solo rest after that I switched to a Caldwell front rest and sandbag next time out the gun was all over the place I could not fiqure out what happened after a few trips to the range I pulled the rifle tighter to my shoulder and I started grouping again I guess that rest gave me a bad habit of not holding the gun tight enough to my shoulder

When I started shooting my 300 RUM, I used an "Uncle Buds" bull bag , i think is the name. It really holds the rifle straight....there's not alot of left/right movement of the forend. With the Vais break the recoil isn't enough to cause flinching. When hunting, I just use a light grip on the forarm and it puts them at the same poi as off the bench....rsbhunter

I understand about "shoot like you hunt" theory, and after you've done load development and accuracy testing off off a rest and / or bags, it's the way to go. I still believe that you need to verify the accuracy of the rifle and load,(off the bench) making sure you are getting all of the potential out of both . Then you should practice off hand, sitting, bipod, etc, to check your accuracy potential in different situations.... rsbhunter

You need a super consistent rest to do load development without influencing the work with bad shooting. The sled type don't recoil right. The rifle should slide in recoil. I get we are all expert shooters, but 😂

I still want to remove as much shooter as possible. I use a pedestal rest with Protector front and rear bags. I also use powdered wax to help the stock slide.

My rear bag is spaced up so it fits my shoulder right.