A Little Reloading Help

manitou

A question for the gurus.
I have been reloading for about 12 years now and have never experienced this.

This past year I completed a custom build... .280ai. I worked up several loads this past spring and summer but settled on one load with 168 gr Berger VLDHs. I have fired 240 rounds during load workup, trying different bullet, primer and powder combos.
I never had sticky bolt lift through this process. I did however, notice that my smith chambered the barrel pretty snug, but within specs. He is a very notable and recognized smith but will leave his name out for obvious reasons.

After finding my load (near max) and having zero bolt lift or extraction issues, I loaded up 150 rounds for future shooting and hunting. I load the seating depth a tad long to bump the bullet back .001" when preparing to use the rounds in order to avoid bullet weld.

A couple of days before hunting season I went out with a buddy, confirmed zero and shot 400,600 and 725 yds to reaffirm my ballistics. All was fine. Nothing had to be changed in my ballistic calculator.
But... my bolt was difficult to lift at the top of the cam action and had to be bumped upwards with my hand with every shot fired. There were no smears, swipes, flattened primers, etc. It was too close to hunting season to mess with, so I hunted with the rifle. I killed a muley three days ago and again, the bolt had a hard lift at the top of the "raising" action before pulling it back to extract the spent cartridge. Again, no marks on the back of the case. Cartridges fed into and extracted from the chamber easily.

Today I took the empty case from the round I killed the MD with and ran it in the chamber of this rifle. It fed well and the bolt closed with ease, as with did the other (loaded) rounds prior. Again, I had a heavy bolt lift at the top of the bolt lift with the empty case!