7mm SAUM help

MOG

G'day guys,

I am about to take carriage of my first LR rifle, a 24 inch barrel 7mm SAUM I have built to hunt Tahr with in NZ so its light for what it is.

My issue is loads for this gun.

I am looking at using H4831SC or RL17 as I can get my hands on both relatively easily.

Projectile wise I was looking at the Berger Hybrid 168 and the Nosler 160 AB?

As this is my first go at this I thought I would ask you guys for some info as to what you thought?

I normally hunt things like this....

923.jpg

So I am new to this LR stuff but very much looking fwd to it.

I also have a 7-SAUM that I have yet to even fire :rolleyes:

The majority of folks are going to the 180grain bullets here & the general consensus is either H4831sc or VV N570. Here a couple links that can help you along your quest:

7mm SAUM with 180 VLD on short action?? - Sniper's Hide Forums

7mm SAUM + 180 Berger Hybrids - Sniper's Hide Forums

Took the 7SAUM to 1650 (Range report) - Sniper's Hide Forums

I know it's not exactly what you were looking for, but then again, there is not reason NOT to step up to the 180.

Cheers, gun)

Left handed Stiller LoneStar Short Action
26" Fluted Obermeyer 8.5 twist +break
Manners MCS-T5 w/ mini chassis

Just received my Murphy Precision 20moa rail a couple days ago... hard to shoot w/o a pic rail!!:D

gun)

Brass?

Where you getting yours? You paying 2 a round for Nosler or you using Remington? OR are you 300 SAUM down. Did you stockpile?

Should MOG consider this? but not sure of availablity in his area.

Outlaw6.0 if you are indeed stockpiling - where do you live and when do you go on vacation?:D

Thank you
Bill

Brass?

Where you getting yours? You paying 2 a round for Nosler or you using Remington? OR are you 300 SAUM down. Did you stockpile?

Should MOG consider this? but not sure of availablity in his area.

Outlaw6.0 if you are indeed stockpiling - where do you live and when do you go on vacation?:D

Thank you
Bill