338 RUM performance

• Thread starter Deleted member 25294
  • Start date
Resize your brass and see how the primer feels. Personally I think you will have better results with slower burning powder. The newer lots of H-1000 are giving me 3300 with a 225 accubond with 97 grains. 95 grains of reloader 25 is similar. Work up to these and watch the extractor marks.

I have been testing my 338 RUM for a couple of months, I have had good luck with Hornady 225gr SST's and Reloder powder. I am getting right at 3100-3150 fps and under 1.5 inches at 200yds. My rifle is heavy, a Shilen #7HV barrel, Remington action, Leupold long range scope and McMillan stock.

I've been fiddling with different bullet weights and powders to see what the gun likes. It is a heavy rifle and running 30-40 rounds thru it is no problem. I'm not a big brake fan but this gun has one. It is not as bad as some types but it is still loud and makes earplugs a must, especially when hunting.

I went with the 338 RUM for a couple of reasons. 1. it easily duplicates 338 Lapua and fits in a long action without mods. 2. the cartridge has no belt, rebated rim or any other odd feature of some large cartridges.

Recoil for a few shots at some critter is never a problem for me. I built this gun a bit heavy because I wanted to be able to run quite a few rounds through it without suffering. In all honesty it is about as hard as my .308 chassis rifle.

I am planning on hiking into a mostly flat mule deer area and using it past 800yds. Every deer I have scene in this area is so far away it is not funny. The good news is that some of them are quite massive.

Resize your brass and see how the primer feels. Personally I think you will have better results with slower burning powder. The newer lots of H-1000 are giving me 3300 with a 225 accubond with 97 grains. 95 grains of reloader 25 is similar. Work up to these and watch the extractor marks.

Thanks I'll try resizing to see if the primers are loose.