.338 Lapua economics and others

Jake Levi

This is not techniques,

I am just getting started in reloading,

and am wondering on the costs for reloaded .338 LR target, and hunting rounds.

I have an older Win 70 30-06, which I really like, but looking at several of the Savages, I'd first thought of the .308, now looking at the .338s, Lapua being the leading one,

just looking for input on the relative economics, or more accurately costs on these.

I have read too much good about the Bergers for hunting and want to work with them for awhile at least. I am just now getting the basics over the winter, while I make up my mind about the caliber. I want to use the same rifle for target and hunting, most hunting will be under 500 yards but do want to put some rounds way down range.

"Economics" of the 338LM is a relative thing.
If you're just looking at some of the initial costs of things, it can be very expensive. A NIB Savage 110-BA will cost you $2K, and you cannot shoot it out of box. There is no open sights, so add a scope and rings. It's not really an offhand type gun, as it weighs about 16lbs, so add a bipod of your liking. You can get itchy and go out and buy a cheap box of Hornady ammunition, which will set you back $90 for 20rds, or you can plan ahead and grab some brass, prices starting in the low $2 per round and go up for premium brass. Bullets are not overly expensive if you go with some Bergers or Hornady, but Lapuas can be pricey to just throw down range. Powder costs as much as the powder for a 223, but it uses a WHOLE lot more of it, upwards of 90gr whereas 223 is down in the mid 20gr and 30-06 is in the mid 40s.