338 250 grain Matchkings on game

I cant say how well they are in the 338 but in 35 they are my main choice of hunting round. I have used them on black bear, moose(both cows and bulls) and this last fall on a whitetail doe. Anything I have ever shot with them never did go very far. I did find that they do seem to perform best right around the 2850 range, any faster and penetration suffered as the bullit came apart too quickly, now having said that the annimal did still die. Huge trauma to all the organs in the chest cavity and massive internal bleeding. The only one I have had complete pass through is with the doe though so if your looking for a round that makes large exit wounds on heavier game this isn't it.

I also should addthat I am using the 225 grn, I just read the WHOLE title of your post so I'm not too sure if anything I put in there is relavent to you. Apologies if it's not

It's nice to hear from another 35 user. I have been playing with a 350 Rem Mag for well over 20 years and have two 358 Norma's that do a decent job out to 400 yards or so. I have found the best bullet to be the 225 Partition as it hangs together and has a reasonable b.c. It outdoes the accubond and works better in the slow twist 35's/

I found the 225 Sierra Gameking to be pretty succeptable to core separation at both high and low velocity. However on caribou size game that doesn't matter much.

I still wonder about the 338 MatchKings. Particularly the 250 Sierra as it is the most easily available up here in the Yukon and shoots so well. The Gameking s no slouch either. Caribou out to 600 would be my game. I think I'll use partitions for moose.

I shot an elk with 338 rum 250 sgk at 700 yards, the bullet hit the front of the liver and the jacket was found against the hide behind the shoulder, the core was a pass thru, expansion was very good and the elk fell after about 50 feet. Accuracy was 3/8" group at 100 yards.