.300wm

forest

Guys go easy on me! I am new to these rounds we are using a .308 at the min, but thinking of the .300WM any pros cons?
It will be used for hunting deer and at the local range which stretches out to 1200yards.

Guys go easy on me! I am new to these rounds we are using a .308 at the min, but thinking of the .300WM any pros cons?
It will be used for hunting deer and at the local range which stretches out to 1200yards.

you have came to the right place. its a great site to get knowladge about rifle shooting and ballistics.

now considering you dont know much about the 300 win mag you wouldnt be so capable of makeing shots out to 1200 yards. makeing those kind of shots on deer takes a verry good understanding of equipment and ballistics and most importantly skill. ( cant belive the shots that some guys on here can achive )

so if you gonna hunt out to say 500 yards the 308 should do you just fine. and the .308 would be a much better choice for your 1000 yards parcticeing at the range as it has much lower recoil and a much longer barrel life and a non experianced shooter can usualy shoot tighter groops with it as it is easyer to shoot than a 300 wm as it has considerably less recoil.

now if you are saying l had my time with my 308 and want to go one step further then yeah for shure go for the 300 wm as it will have much more energy at longer ranges compared to the 308.

pros

+flat shooting
+alot of knockdown power at extended ranges compared to the 308
+one of the most popular long range hunting calibers together with the 7mm REM MAG if not the most popular one amongts hunters World wide.!!

cons
+hi recoil so could make you flinch and hold on to your file hader than you should resulting in poor groops ( once use to the recoil l find it very managable )