300RUM help

bebberson

I am trying to find a load for a rem 700 sendero. I have been using H1000 and 210grain smk's with remington primers and remington cases. I am not having much luck (terrible accuracy). Do I try different powders or bullets I am new to reloading.

I am trying to find a load for a rem 700 sendero. I have been using H1000 and 210grain smk's with remington primers and remington cases. I am not having much luck (terrible accuracy). Do I try different powders or bullets I am new to reloading.

Retumbo has always worked well with the 200's and 210's

What are you intending on shooting with it? I had luck with Reloader 25 and 200 grain Accubonds. I am going to try Retumbo again and start out low. People here recommended 93-95 grains for the 200ab. That did not work for me.

If you have your bullet choice narrowed down, which it sounds like you do, the next step is to get a couple or few different powders that people have had the best luck with. Usually you can tell which powders these are. With the 300 RUM they tend to be H1000, Retumbo, or RL25 with a cople others in the mix.

I shot nothing but H1000 in my 300 RUM with the exception of a few with Retumbo. My rifle Preferred H1000 from the get go so I had no need to experiment with different powders.

Primer choice is usually one of the last things to change. They are not that important in developing an accurate load, BUT a different primer can make all the difference in the world, cutting some groups in half from my experience. 9 of 10 times though the primer you have on hand will work for load work up. If you get the hankering though, keep everything else the same and do a simple primer swap and see what happens.

I would recomend you try some Retumbo or RL25. Every rifle is different and you cant expect them all to shoot the first powder/bullet combo you throw at them into 1/2".