300 Sherman Max help needed

pburton

Hi everyone,
I have a 300 Sherman Max being built and cannot find any helpful starting load data. The Sherman website only has data for rl26, which I only have a half pound of and do not really like it all that much. I have asked on their FB page also with very limited information. My plan is to run the 215 Berger Hybrid and also maybe the 181 Hammer Hunter. Currently I have H4350, H4381sc, H1000, Retumbo, RL23, RL16, N560, N565, and 7828sc. Anyone out there loading for this cartridge? My thoughts were to use SAUM Data and WSM data and find a middle point to get started, but really having a hard time finding data with heavier bullets. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I'm just getting started with a friends 300 max using the 208 eldm and 100v. I know it's not on your list of powder unfortunately. I've only shot rl 26 in mine. I would think h4350 and rl 16 would be pretty good choices for temp stability but not the fastest out there. If I was you with those powders I'd focus on the 4350 and 16. I'm not sure on h4831. Not sure on a starting point for those though.

I'm just getting started with a friends 300 max using the 208 eldm and 100v. I know it's not on your list of powder unfortunately. I've only shot rl 26 in mine. I would think h4350 and rl 16 would be pretty good choices for temp stability but not the fastest out there. If I was you with those powders I'd focus on the 4350 and 16. I'm not sure on h4831. Not sure on a starting point for those though.

Thank you for your response. I was just reading your thread on the 300SS. I was going to use a little of your data from that to get a basic starting point. Those are the two powders that I was looking at starting with. I was also thinking about RL23 and the N560, although they may be a little too slow. I actually have a little more RL26 than I thought, but I still do have concerns about its temp stability. It gets pretty warm here in the summer.