300 rum???

mtsooner

Well, haven't posted here much, frankly I don't have a lot of knowledge unless it comes to bowhunting. I like to rifle hunt though, when that season rolls around, because you can never put too much meat in the freezer...right?

I'm fairly new to the world of customizing long range rifles, but it's always intrigued me. In the past, I have had a 30.06, 30.30, 7mm, and a .243...had all those guns when I still lived in the south, but since moving to Colorado, I'm gun-less :( Those were all factory guns with nothing done to them.

I've been searching, in this forum, for a good starting point, for a great long range rifle build on a pretty tight budget. ($800-1000 or less total). Something that deals primarily with Colorado animals and elevations. I hunt elk mainly, but also mule deer and bear occasionally.

I'd, also, really like to learn to do all this customizing myself on a budget, if that's doable. I know asking a lot from a newb!

Anyway, I want something that will be good out to 500 yards or so, because I don't think I'm comfortable with taking a shot beyond that distance...at least not right now. I was thinking a 300 RUM for those species, but if any of you have better recommendations, please let me know. Also, if you can point me to some good posts on budget builds in my price range, which has more of a post than just showing pics of their finished product, please feel free to send me the link. I seem to be striking out...maybe not looking in the right place.

Thanks for letting me be a part of this community and allowing me to ask for some guidance!