243 Ackley and H4350?

Greg Duerr

I have a .243 AI and 10 lbs of H4350 and not much of any other kind of powder. Im new at this so Im starting off with 44.0 gr of H4350 and working up by .5gr..........................I realize that your rifle will tell you when enough is enough but for those of you who do use this combination when did your rifle tell you enough, and what was that ..................Im shooting 100gr Sierra Pro Hunter's 24in barrel...............

What would be a good starting load....................the Sierra bullet teck told me to start out at 37gr.

For those of you who have a lot more experiance than I do .............??

If using Hodgdon powder, first place to visit is the manufacturers website:
Cartridge Loads - Hodgdon Reloading Data Center - data.hodgdon.com

For the regular 243 with a 100gr bullet the load listed is from 37-40gr. With an AI the usual rule is that it may take up to 10% more powder, particularly if the bullet is seated long.

Another good source is .243 Win + .243 AI Cartridge Guide

They list ackley loads, but beware that many of the loads listed are very hot and with long seated bullets.

4350 is a good powder for the 243 and 243AI You will see that the loads on 6mmbr do not get to the 243AI+10% level, but are rather just a grain or 2 more.

I was unable to get a decent amount of 4350 which is why I am using H100V (which is relatively easy to get) and I will just have to see how consistent it is over different temperatures. I have a bunch of superformance powder which I bought by mistake and I will be trying that also. These are all relatively slow powders.

I would never start with a Min load. Rather start in the middle or even directly at 39gr. When I worked up my fireforming load, I started directly with 41gr of H100V which is the max load in the parent cartridge. Because of the expansion of the brass the pressure peaks out lower than in a regular chamber and this load has shot 1/2 moa for me.