Your Help required please

leon-1

Firstly I think I should say hello, as you can see my name is Leon. My background is a bit mixed, but I spent 11years as a sniper in HM Forces and trialled the LRLCR for the British forces.

In 2007 I am due to take part in an Expedition walking across greenland towing my gear with me, I have been asked about what rifle I will require if the need arised to take down a polar bear, the DPC who have done a lot of research on these things suggest something larger than a .308 at 220 grains, I personally would say something 250 grain or larger. Has anyone here ideas on calibre for this or has anyone hunted Polar Bear (obviously within the law).

Secondly a friend of mine is a hunter in Sweden and has been happy with his 6.5mm swedish (he has been usin 6.5mm lapua mega @ 158 grain), but recently they have had a problem with brown bear (not the same size as yours, but still dangerous) he is concerned about the calibre not being enough for the job in the event that he had to shoot a chargeing bear. Obviously the man is a subsistence hunter not trophy, at the same time if he is going to shoot something he does not want to cause suffering and would rather not carry 2 rifles. He would normally be hunting elk and moose, can you suggest a rifle with a caliber that is acceptable for his purpose.

Sorry to open with questions, and many thanks for any suggestions to the questions posed. Leon /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif