Will neck sizing die work to resize new .30-06 brass to .338-06?

isptroop38

I have a .338-06 Weatherby on the way. I am not sure whether to buy new .338-06 brass (expensive, but maybe worth it) or just resize some .30-06 brass to .338-06. If I were to resize, do I really need a full length resizing die if I use new .30-06 brass? Would a neck sizing die do the trick? I was thinking about getting a set of Redding Neck Sizing dies for resizing whatever brass I end up shooting through my Weatherby. Any advice? Thanks.

It's best to run the brass through a FL die before you shoot it for the first time, then after the brass has been fireformed, neck sizing will work.

Maybe I'm missing your question entirely. But it sounds like you want to up-size your necks to 338 from 308. If that's the case, a sizing die won't do that.

No, I think I'm the one missing the boat entirely. I have been reloading for 5 years now, but this will be the first time I have tried to change one case (caliber) into another. I had read that all I needed to do was run a .30-06 case through a .338 Win Mag or similar die to resize the neck opening. If that is not true, how would I go about changing the neck diameter from .308 to .338? Is there a specific resizing die? Thanks for your patience.

I use Sinclair expander die/mandrels.

These are for use in neck turning, but work very well for up-sizing, atleast to get you in the ballpark. Take your necks up, then if needed, a followup with neck sizing to desired.
I can't go to Sinclair's site from here(work). But if they have 325 cal turning/expander mandrels as well as 338 T/E mandrels..They would be ideal to use in getting there.

Anything with a tapered expander will work. Hornady dies have them as standard equipment. You get get a tapered ball for Redding dies.
I size up 300 wby to 340 wby all the time.
Not sure what diff there is in shoulder dimensions between the '06 and the 338-06 but I'll bet it's pretty easily "do-able".