Sendero 300 VS Building a rifle???

Wisner74

Hello and thanks in advance for any help:

I have a Sendero 300 WinMag, I put on a jewel trigger, brake, Nightforce scope. The gun shoots well but is almost to heavy to hunt with. Was going to put a 26 oz stock on it to drop weight but that only puts it at 10.5 lbs. Went to my local gunsmith here in Reno (J & G Gunsmithing) to see if he could turn down the barrel. He said don't do it. He said to Re-barrel. I asked with Obermeyer or Kreiger. he seemed to want to do a shilling. But he would also blue print the action.

So here I am thinking to rebarel with an Obermeyer # 4 or 5 fluted, blue printed action, and new stock. Some where in the 9.5 lb range.

But would it be better to just build a new rifle??? I am new to This. I already have an older m77 300 win mag my dad never shot. I put a mark 4 on it and it shoots great. only weighs 9.5 lbs. so maybe just blue print this action…….IS IT WORTH IT??

As far as building a new long range hunting rifle i am all confused now because I started reading….lol. I here about these Deviant Ultralight actions and I am like wow….they look nice but are they worth it??? is it better to just buy a Remington 700 action and have it blueprinted???

Right now I am thinking Deviante Ultralight action, Jewel trigger, 26" Obermeyer #4 0r 5 fluted Barrel, muzzle brake, precision Edge stock…..Is it worth it????

Next What Caliber??? I live in Nevada and Hunt Elk, Deer And Antelope. Plan on a sheep and goat hunt in the future. Did a red Stag and Tahr hunt this year in New Zealand with the m77.

My buddy swears by the 300 rum. My dad is all about the 7mm. don't see any reason to have another 300 winmag.

I am by no means a guru when it comes to this…….just read a lot. I am that type that sees $$$$$$$ signs and I think it is good. But I really don't want to waste the money.