300 win sendero vs semi custom

Idahobuckeye

Ok what I'm looking to do is have a rifle that I feel comfortable with at 1000 yes plus. My skill aside. The ultimate question is for the money would I be better off with a sendero 300 dropping in a timney trigger? Or buy a 700 action with a bartlein barrel some type of stock and a timney trigger? Optics rings base and custom load work up the same for both? Figure 400$ to buy a donor 700 action.

Is one better than the other and is one going to cost much more than the other? I really don't know what gun smithing would cost to assemble the "custom" rifle.
I am just starting out for long range I think id be happy either way but want to know results vs cost is there a noticeable difference? A savage build also intrigues me and I was told i could get more for my money? Are there better routes to go?

Thank you for all the help and information!

The Sendero is a great rifle for the money - a little overpriced depending on where you pick it up, but they are well made.

My Sendero in 7RM shoots great with the 162 Amax. The only thing I've done to it was swap the trigger out for a Timney.

The HS stocks are pretty nice, I just wish they had a higher comb.

I say make a semi custom.

An aftermarket barrel combined with a stock with the fit and feel you want would be my choice. Add the timney trigger and a custom reamer that suits your specific needs and IMO you surpass what the Sendaro has to offer.

You can get a longer or shorter, lighter or heavier barrel than the Sendaro which YOU want. The aftermarket barrel will clean up easier and with proper machining it should surpass the accuracy of the factory package.