Question for Lefties

jpd676

I've been a firearms instructor for most of my career. I just adopted two boys; one is a leftie. So, for all of you lefties, IF you learned to shoot a right handed bolt rifle, do you wish you would have learned on a left bolt rifle from the beginning or are you glad you learned on a right handed rifle (before switching to a left bolt rifle)?

Depends on the person I would assume. I didn't mind using a right handed rifle when I was younger but I really don't like them now after switching to mostly custom lefty actions. I like the ability to be able to use a right handed rifle if needed tho!

The one thing I noticed when I was younger with the right handed rifle was the technique I was taught was to reach over the scopes, which meant you had to break from shouldering and sight picture and was SLOW😂.

I guess what I'm getting at is it was probably beneficial for me to learn how to work a right handed rifle before getting lefties ones because we live in a world made for righties

Learn on both, a lefty bolt is gonna be easier to manipulate but I think it's certainly worth getting lots of time with a RH bolt (and safety) just because he's gonna run into a lot of righty bolts for his entire life. I prefer lefty's but I can also work a righty bolt just fine and still have some RH bolts.

I've been a firearms instructor for most of my career. I just adopted two boys; one is a leftie. So, for all of you lefties, IF you learned to shoot a right handed bolt rifle, do you wish you would have learned on a left bolt rifle from the beginning or are you glad you learned on a right handed rifle (before switching to a left bolt rifle)?
I'm right handed, Left eye dominant and primarily shoot left handed but can shoot right handed. I've never had a left handed bolt gun, only right handed. Im pretty satisfied. I will probably never own a left handed bolt gun