Teaching myself to shoot lefty - looking for resources

poppadok

I'm looking for some resources (books to read, threads to read) that are concise and constructive. I'm basically teaching myself to shoot all over again, want to learn about shooting technique in it's entirety with the hopes of training myself into the long range shooter category.

I've been shooting for 25 years, always shooting righty, but I am left eye dominant (in a big way). My right eye vision has deteriorated with age, and I've decided it's time to make it offical. I just sold my right handed elk rifle (30-06) and purchased my first left handed rifle (.308).

My new lefty rifle is a LH Ruger Gunsight Scout .308. Not the normal rifle you would be discussing on here, but my logic is pretty simple, its a short light carbine. As I stated, I'm teaching myself from scratch and want to do it properly. I expect to be shooting and hunting with this rifle for the next two or three years while I build proficiency. But to start, I intend to teach myself with it open sights in each position and gradually extending range and I'm weaker on my left side so I figured the shorter, lighter rifle would be easier to hold up and control. I'll then add a scope and do it again.

I was hoping the group here could help me "pool" all the things I need to be thinking about considering that I have never really been trained to shoot other than in Boy Scouts. For instance, I just read today about "Natural Point of Aim". I had never heard of that before, but it makes sense. What else do I need to know about? Keeping in mind I want to be shooting (targets at least) at 1000 yds some day, where can I learn about sight picture, how to control breathing - the way the pros do it - to build a good foundation on?

I appreciate all of your help, and look forward to joining the ranks.

Thanks!