Pros and Cons carbon fiber barrel vs steel barrel

shedhunt

Hello!!

Looking for some information on the pros and cons of carbon fiber barrels vs steel barrels. I'm getting ready to build a 7mm and can't decide if I want to go with a carbon fiber barrel or a nice fluted steel barrel. I spoke to the gunsmith that I'm looking to use for some action work and barreling the action. He made a comment to me that I thought was interesting by stating that you don't save in weight with a carbon barrel like everyone thinks and can get the same weight out of a steel barrel with fluting.

So the questions I have are, those who have done this very exact thing, did you see a weight reduction? Have you also noticed if the barrel cools quicker than a fluted barrel?

Please share your experiences as I'd like to make a decision that I want question or be unhappy with.

Thank you for your time!!

I'm far from an expert but have several CF barrels and have had stainless/fluted barrels.
I prefer short/stiff barrels for use with my suppressors and the CF fits the bill for that and has a significant weight reduction. (The longer /heavier the barrel the more weight reduction comparatively). Not all CF barrels are the same. I have found that Bartline CF barrels are heavier than Proof of same length. Was told by my smith that it is due to the contour under the CF…he said Bart is tapereded while proof is "step down."

If not using a suppressor it would be a toss up for me…..but I'm never shooting without a suppressor lol. Cannot speak to cooling but should be a non issue in a hunting rifle.

My2c

Working same project with a 7mm 20" barrel.

My findings are you can get a flutted benchmark #3 contour big enough for 9/16 threads under 2lbs.

Lightest CF barrel I've found is from carbon6 featherweight (.75" at muzzle) will thread 5/8 but weight will be closer to 36-38oz (6oz heavier).