Muzzle brake question and a grain of salt.

hawken11

I am considering muzzle break for my .300wm. The gunsmith claims that alone will get my Sendero from 2" at 300 yds to 1.5 or less. He actually claimed down to 1" at 300 yds.

I am not an engineer, gunsmith and not much more than a novice at LR Shooting. I know the benefits and am sold on the MB, but wanted to get some input on accuracy benefits minus the flinch factor.

Any thoughts or stories /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif???

Accuracy of the rifle most probably won't be affected.

Accuracy of the "system" (you and the rifle) most probably will greatly improve.

It turned my 338 Win into a ***** cat. Its now a 338 RUM and just a bigger ***** cat, maybe a tom cat.

The brake improved things enough to be able to work up very good loads and be able to shoot 300gr bullets prone most of the afternoon.

The trick is to get the correct brake.

Unless you are shooting on the golf course you don't want holes in the bottom. Big time dust or water spray.

I'd recommend Holland QD or the Defensive Edge. I have both and am pleased.

Hi the good break can help you to shoot the rifle better so your groups will shrink. But it can also act like a barrel tuner by adding weight infront of the muzzle sonetimes this helps the accuracy other times the node is in the wrong place and it can actualy hurt accuracy.

The thing is accuracy will be the best that you can shoot and if the rifle has less felt recoil you will be able to shoot it better.

Cheers Bill
Australia

Wild Bill hit the nail on the head.

Sometimes it will change the barrel for the better or the worst. You just never know. The good news is, if it changes for the worst, you just need to redevelop your loads. Differant powers, bullets, charge weights ect....