Muzzle Brake and Scope Movement

royinidaho

Just noticed that scope has moved ahead about 3/16th of an inch after 35 rounds and muzzle brake installation.

Scope had not moved w/more than 100 of same rounds prior to the brake?

What don't I know? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif Or should I chew out the fella that installed the scope (me) /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif

I'm no pro but it may be a ring issue.
I assume your talking about the 338 in some of you other posts.
I don't know what the recoil is like on it.
I have limited experience with brakes ( only one holland QD )but my scope has not moved and I have put 75 rounds down the tube since it was added. I mounted the scope on it new after brake installation with Burris signature rings with a 6X24X50 Burris Black Diamond in them( which is not a light scope )and no movement yet. Thats on a 7Rum but recoil is 243 level or less since brake job.
Thats all the help I can be but keep us posted on what you find out.

Roy,

Keep in mind that while you feel less "felt recoil", the scope and rifle are acutally having more stress and strain placed on them with a brake. Let me explain why before I am called a crazy loon!!

Recoil is the resulting force you feel from the bullet being forced down the barrel, that who opposite and equal action deal!!

Well, a rifle will gain teh exact same amount of recoil energy from firing a round with or without a brake. this is because the recoil energy is produced while the bullet is in the bore. From the time the bullet begins to move until it reached and is released by the muzzle, the rifle gains "X" amount of recoil energy.