Is it just me?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dmgreene, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. dmgreene

    dmgreene Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    157
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Is it just me or is anyone else speed problems on this site? Here lately it has gotten so very slow. I'm not having any speed problems anywhere else on the web. I'm no computer wizard, is there some setting I need to change?

    Thanks, David
     
  2. MagMan

    MagMan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,008
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    During the day today it had times where it was terribly slow. The banners and everything would load fine just the thread content was slow (15-25 seconds with my cable modem).
     

  3. harv

    harv Member

    Messages:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Me too. The site seems to lock up when looking for an ad and I have to close the site and re-open it for it to work. I have high speed internet and have no problems anywhere else.
     
  4. dmgreene

    dmgreene Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    157
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    MagMan,harv thats the same thing thats happening to me and I'm on high speed connection too.
     
  5. michael A.

    michael A. Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    me toogun)
     
  6. Timberbeast7

    Timberbeast7 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    me three, I mean me too.
     
  7. ss7mm

    ss7mm Writers Guild

    Messages:
    3,707
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Sorry you are having speed problems. I am on cable also and from the time I click on a thread in a list of threads, I am reading it in a new tab in 1 - 1.25 seconds.

    I am using Firefox 3 Beta 3. Firefox 2.0.0.12 is not quite as fast but both are waaaay faster than IE. With IE I'd just sit and wait. I haven't really used IE for several years now.
     
  8. gamehauler

    gamehauler Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    228
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Me Also.
    I think it is the flashing adds.
    I am on cable
    Mike
     
  9. piutemike

    piutemike Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    126
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Yes, I have noticed a difference in the last week or so, but only on this site.
     
  10. Timberbeast7

    Timberbeast7 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    +1 on Firefox, I just downloaded it and now this site is loading much faster (I'm also on cable).
     
  11. gamehauler

    gamehauler Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    228
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Could one of you Firefox guys post a link
    so I don't have to figure out if its the real thing
    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  12. Ernie

    Ernie <strong>SPONSOR</strong>

    Messages:
    2,841
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    I'm also on cable and it has been unusually slow for me as well.
     
  13. cinch

    cinch Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    540
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    I am on dial-up which is slow to begin with. Now It is very slow and sometimes times out. I also think it is all the adds.
     
  14. Timberbeast7

    Timberbeast7 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007