Advice needed for my hunting and shooting..

RKW68

I will be the first to admit that I am new to shooting beyond 200 yds. I am a bow hunter by nature but would like to experiment with shooting out to say 600-700 yds. So I am looking for the proper setup. It needs to be a rifle/scope combo that will work in the woods and for leisure shooting at those distances. I have been looking at the Remington 700 5R rifles with a 24" or 20" barrel and the Tikka TCR. Either in .308 or 6.5 creedmoor. I really need advice in optics for lower light situations. I like the NF NSX 2.5X10X42 and the 3.5X15X50. All advice and suggestions are welcome.
Thanks

I opted for the 2.5-10x42 compact in an attempt to keep my rifle weight down. I haven't shot out to 6-700 but have successfully taken several deer out to 350 without issue. I don't think you could go wrong with either one, I just happened to get a sweet deal at the time.

Last edited:
I don't think you can beat eather scope choice. I would choose the 15 power. It will help more for the longer shooting that you want to do. Lots of rifle and cartridge choices.

Steve

I have 2 of the NF 2.5-10 and love them. 10 power is just fine out to 1,000 yards and the scope is much more compact that the bigger models. No need to fool with parallax is also handy and saves time in those critical hunting situations.

I can't say enough good about the VX-6 Leupold's. I have both the 3-18x50 and 4-24x52's on five different rifles now and I'll probably eventually replace all of my other scopes with them.

I have 2 of the NF 2.5-10 and love them. 10 power is just fine out to 1,000 yards and the scope is much more compact that the bigger models. No need to fool with parallax is also handy and saves time in those critical hunting situations.
How is the light gathering in the NF with the 42 MM objective in comparison the like a Leupold VX 3 50 mm ?