Which MT “trophy” elk districts?

Troutslayer2

I debated if I should just reach out directly to some of you or post this. I've got nearly max MT elk points, the only reason I haven't drawn is that I've put in with parties of people who do not have many points. I think I'm going to go for it this year and burn a lifetime of points. I'm really struggling to decide where. The breaks aren't what they used to be according to some. I will have plenty of time to scout and even fly the district. I'm considering the obvious ones. I will be more of a weekend warrior DIY (can probably do 8 days straight) not going to pay a dime for access or trespass or whatever they're calling it. Will not consider an outfitter. Hoping to hunt a high 300". Any suggestions on what is the best District to do this in?

I've no direct experience but I would be tempted to try to talk to one or more biologists at Montana FWP to see if they can offer some actual data on where larger bulls can be found on public land. Might take a number of calls to actually find a helpful person but it could be worthwhile. I have 1-point and will be going for my first ever elk hunt this year in MT. I'll be using a guide since the unit is 97% private property and guide can add up to 2 points (I have to buy) to my total. Good luck.