What kind of equipment do you use in the field?

born2kill

Little curious what kind of equipment you guys use when target shooting and hunting. Like do you bring your Kestrel's for wind, a PDA/iPhone app/a ballistic's chart, obviously a rangefinder, spotting scope, bino's. I'm just getting into it and not 100% sure everything I need. So figured I'd see what everyone's using?

Thanks

Rangefinder, spotting scope w/tripod, data book, drop/wind charts, shooting mat, rear bag, backpack (caries everything & is my primary shooting rest), assortment of targets, a plan for my training that day

Hunting I leave the data book, and I use my sleeping pad as a shoot mat.

When I am shooting rocks and targets I take my rangefinder and a tripod for it. I take a spotting scope and tripod. I have my bino's. Large and small sand bags and a shooting mat. I use a windmeter and smartphone app. I also use my video camera and record my shots so I can review my hits on rocks. When I am hunting I pretty much use the same but when I leave the truck for walking I also leave the sand bags shooting mat and I only take one smaller tripod for the spotting scope and rangefinder.

In my day pack or on me for hunting will be found a laser range finder/bino combo, kestrel, air density ballistic chart and a topo map, lots of water, snack or two, extra batteries, ammo, rifle, bipod, rear bag, knives for field dressing, some 550 cord, paper towels and optics brush. Depending on the weather maybe some extra layers packed away as well... just in case.

If I am just shooting I will take what will be needed for whatever I am doing but I have a truck to carry it then. May be extra firearms, ammo, chrono, shooting mat, targets, log book, pens, markers, stapler, mags, optics cleaner, small tool kit with allen wrenches assorted bits and half inch and quester inch drive sockets.

This is a good thread for beginner's like myself that are trying to figure out what to take hunting. I am gonna save this one.