What groups to choose

CamouMan

Hello,
I am new to reloading, this is my first time developing a load. I shot 9 groups yesterday with 168 gr ABLRs and Retumbo from 69-73 grains in my 7mag finnlight. My analysis was 71-71.5 have the smallest groups, but then I was told that it is better to choose a flatter horizontal group. Any advice on what groups/powdercharges to choose to further my load development would really help. Also any other load development advise would be great.

Notice The bottom groups (exept the 69gr ABLR) are labeled TTSX please disregard those.

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_1173.jpg
    IMG_1173.jpg
    91.4 KB · Views: 66
  • IMG_1174.jpg
    IMG_1174.jpg
    94.1 KB · Views: 59
  • IMG_1175.jpg
    IMG_1175.jpg
    93.6 KB · Views: 59
Last edited:
If It were me.. I would look at 72.5 to 73 for the LRAB. Those two have very little vertical. The horizontal on them could have been a hot barrel, wind, bag position, etc.

I would not ignore the TTSX stuff though! That 70.5 to 71.5 with the TTSX show promise too. The rifle may shoot one bullet better than another. Don try to force it to shoot the LRAB if it doesn't like them.

Also, question about what you're shooting off of. Bipod? Bags? Are you letting the rifle free recoil or holding on to it? Sometimes a light rifle in a mag cartridge like that needs to be controlled with a firm grip.

Well i would work with 73 and 73.5. Very little vertical between those two loads. You may have found a wide accuracy node there

Seating depth test may tighten them right up

After seating depth test check charges between 72.9 and 73.6 in 0.1 incriments.

Seems you are.quite a bit over max

Well i would work with 73 and 73.5. Very little vertical between those two loads. You may have found a wide accuracy node there

If It were me.. I would look at 72.5 to 73 for the LRAB. Those two have very little vertical. The horizontal on them could have been a hot barrel, wind, bag position, etc.