Vortex viper PST OR Sightron S-Tac

wnc-coyote

Ok guys, I have been doing research for a new scope. I have narrowed it down to either the Vortex Viper pst 4-16 SFP or the Sightron S-Tac 2.5-17.5. I have only been able to put my hands on the vortex. I like the feel of the vortex but have heard great reviews on the S-Tac. I do have some experience with Sightron SIII which have been very clear and tracking was spot on. I would love to hear if someone has hands on with the S-tac. The vortex i have played with was very nice i just am not sure about tracking. I have read lots of reviews on the PST but have seen only a few where someone has box tested. Can someone please share personal experience with either of these scopes.. Thank you

I have no experience with the Sightron, but I have experience with 2 of the Vortex scopes. I first started with the PST on my 7mm. It was absolutely fantastic. It tracked great, It held it's zero perfectly no matter how many times I adjusted the turrets for wind or elevation, the reticle is thin enough to not cover up your target at longer distances, and the clarity of the lens is great. I put 500 rounds roughly through the 7mm with the PST on the rifle. The only down side, was I chose too small of a magnification for what I do with the rifle. So I took it off and put it on my 243. I then purchased a HS. It is equally as impressive as the PST. It's basically the exact same scope at the PST, minus the illuminated reticle, and minus a little $$$. Both scopes are in my sig. I am sold on the Vortex Optics. I couldn't be happier with mine, and the warraty can't be beat. I've never personaly had any issues with my stuff, but my friend ran over a set of his binos on a hunt this year, and he said they were great to deal with.

Do you miss having the Illumination on your 7mm? Mine would be used for hunting and shooting steel/targets. I was thinking with the reticle being so small in low light it might really come in handy.