Uh-oh I might have messed up

Red Sparky

Since this is my first year bow hunting I might have screwed up. During muzzle loader elk hunts I only had to worry about other elk hunters so I might run into 10 hunters on the road going to or from camp. I never ran into another hunter in the woods. This year for bow hunting I figured there might be 100 hunters after elk in the unit I drew, so I might run into 10 or less on the roads going to and from camp. I usually leave the vehicle before sunrise and get back to it after sunset and spend all day on foot.

The problem I found reading the rules and regs. is during bow season not only are elk hunters in the unit but up to 600 deer hunters. I figure head away from the roads and I might avoid most hunters but how is this extra pressure going to effect the elk? Any ideas on how to get away from other hunters? Hopefully it is like ML elk where most hunters are on the weekend and the week days are pretty empty. Crossing my fingers and hoping but I guess I will learn once Sept. 1st gets here.

One of my strategies for hunting deer on public land here in Florida was this:
Don't hunt deer - hunt people. I would go out scouting late in the weekend before the opener and try to find a logging ramp, trailhead or other jumping off point that had no fresh people sign.
I'd rather take my chances in a area of low game population and no pressure than in an area with tons of game and a hunter set up on every trail.
If I'm left alone to work the area by myself, I can be successful in almost any circumstances.
One further piece of advice: When you're young and in good shape, you cannot be too far from a road. Get as far in the woods as you can. As you get older, that distance gets shorter and shorter until you can't even get to the woods anymore. Enjoy it while you can. :)