Stringing

TK 1985

What are some causes of horizontal stringing at the target? I know, well correct me if I'm wrong, that vertical stringing comes from powder or at least muzzle velocity inconsistencies. But what about horizontal?

Barrel heat, fouling, YOU (i.e. trigger jerk),mirage.....Very seldom does a scope do that during a failure.... for me, when a scope dies its *USUALLY* angular.

I knew a hot barrel could throw shots, I did not know it would do it in a nice horizontal line

I had the same issue when I started shooting the big magnums. My problem was I was putting to much shoulder into it. It was making the muzzle jump up and to the left, making the rifle do a little dance on the bipods. I started relaxing alittle and letting the rifle recoil straight back. I also don't rap my thumb around on top. I lay it across my knuckle, in line with my trigger finger. That helped with me squeezing the grip to much.

What range was the target? Obviously wind, which is always present, is the largest source of horizontal stringing. Even at a hundred yards it is a factor if you have a precise rifle and are shooting sub moa.

I had the same issue when I started shooting the big magnums. My problem was I was putting to much shoulder into it. It was making the muzzle jump up and to the left, making the rifle do a little dance on the bipods. I started relaxing alittle and letting the rifle recoil straight back. I also don't rap my thumb around on top. I lay it across my knuckle, in line with my trigger finger. That helped with me squeezing the grip to much.

A vertical grip really helps to squarely pull the rifle into your shoulder.

What range was the target? Obviously wind, which is always present, is the largest source of horizontal stringing. Even at a hundred yards it is a factor if you have a precise rifle and are shooting sub moa.

Yeah, the lack of info makes it hard to diagnose

223? You're not going to have any jump, unless the rifle weighs 4 lbs.