Savage Bear Hunter 300 WM Factory Load

RFtinkerer

I know there are several threads on factory loads, but they don't seem to apply to my Savage Bear Hunter 300 WM (a 116 with 23" SS barrel, muzzle brake).

I've tried:
Hunting Shack 185 grn Bergers = No good -- and the powder stinks
Black Hills 190 grn match = No good (This was a big surprise given the recommendations)
Hornady Superformance 180 grn = No good
Prvi Partisan 180 grn = Good (Surprising since it was cheap, but the bullet is not good for deer)
Hornady 180 grn SST = Good (Yay)
Hornady 165 grn SST = Okay

By "No good" I mean 3-4 inch groups at 100!, "Good" about 1-1.5 inches. Now, I'm a high power noob since I've been only shooting a 22 cal for a year+ and this rifle for 2 months, so there is definitely some pilot error here, but I was quite surprised about how ammo picky this rifle is. I was hoping to shoot better groups than my dinky 22, but it doesn't seem to be panning out. I have greatly limited funds for my shooting habits, the kids keep asking for "food" and "clothing" (stupid stuff like that) so I feel I've wasted quite a bit of money finding a factory load. I don't want to reload, and I don't really want to waste more money locating a good load. But--is there any benefit to trying other manufacturers, like Federal, Fiocchi, Winchester, Barnes, etc?

Are there better factory loads SPECIFICALLY on the Savage 116 models? Hopefully someone with a Bear Hunter model can chime in? Or should I just deal with having one good deer load? Should I sell my rifles and go back to basket weaving, or whatever it is non-shooters do?

RFtinkerer,

WOW! I don't think I've ever had any trouble like you have even on my very worst rifle.

Shooting for .22 cal for only a year then transition to .300 WM in the last 2 months is quite the jump.