Reloading Pistol Tips

Vamike9

I'm very used to reloading precision rifle but need some tips with pistol.
Recently reloaded some 45acp exactly as the handbook/manual describes. All performed excellent in my 1911.
However, when I reload I notice I'm feeling the lip around the case mouth more than factory ammo.
I don't over expand and I'm making sure I'm following the directions exactly. They feed well but I don't like this.
It's evenly seated with no gap around case mouth.
Also would like some tips on 44 magnum as I plan to start reloading soon.

Well being I'm in the same boat as you except just the opposite :) I'm new to the rifle scene but been reloading hand guns for a while now. Sounds like the crimp die needs some tweaking. Set it to taper crimp a bit more "flatten out the lip". Then pull the bullet and measure to see if it's getting swagged by the crimp. I'm guessing not and you just need a bit more crimp. I've found that most brands of dies need the adjustments tweaked a bit as all presses are not the same. The 44 if your gonna load full house mag loads your gonna want a good roll crimp to keep the bullets from jumping and locking up the cylinder. All the stuff about what powder, bullet etc you already know find what works. If your loading cast try http://castboolits.gunloads.com/forum.php they are huge J word fans but a bunch of good guys just like the folks here.
Being a newbie here :D hope this helps a bit.

Last edited:
You definitely want to expand the mouth of the case enough to allow the bullet to enter the case during the seating process. This will prevent it from shaving some of the bullet base, or cause the case wall to collapse. On revolver cartridges, you want a "roll crimp", and crimp into the cannelure if the bullet has one. If it doesn't, trying to crimp the case too much will cause the case to bulge, and it won't chamber in the weapon.