Pistol Reloading Question

motown

I have been handloading for rifles for roughly 20 years now and am planning on starting for handguns now as well. I just picked up a Ruger SBH 41 mag that I would like to try some different loads for.

My question is are there any additional steps for reloading handgun cartridges than rifle that need to be done. I have always reloaded for bolt action rifles so never found the need for crimping, so that will be new for me, but other than that is there anything else I should know about?

A straight walled cartridge will require a sizing belling step to keep from crushing the case.

Normally, The first die decaps and resizes the outer dimension of the case.

The second die will resize the interior mouth of the case to accept the new slug and will slightly bell the mouth of the case to accept the base of the bullet easier.

The third die will seat and crimp the finished round. It is suggested to seat and crimp in different steps. I have found I make much better pistol loads using the two step seat and crimp process.

One of the biggest differences between rifle and pistol loading is that a double charge of powder is possible in most large handgun cases. BOOM.

Good luck with loading.

I have been handloading for rifles for roughly 20 years now and am planning on starting for handguns now as well. I just picked up a Ruger SBH 41 mag that I would like to try some different loads for.

My question is are there any additional steps for reloading handgun cartridges than rifle that need to be done. I have always reloaded for bolt action rifles so never found the need for crimping, so that will be new for me, but other than that is there anything else I should know about?
motown,