Pillar bedded my XP-100R 223

nomo4me

Please note:
- This is a handgun with escutcheons for both front and rear action screws. One cannot use the usual pillar bedding posts or other aids.
- I am not a pro and do not present this as saleable or expert work. I'm sure there are better ways to do each of these steps. If you wanna post how you'd have done some particular aspect differently that's fine by me.

Onto the project:
The foam fill McMillan used for the action fill of these stocks is soft enough to dent with the fingernail so............

For those of you not familiar with an XP-100R, they were made in 1998 and stocked by McMillan.
IMG_4113.jpg

Brownells adjustable pillars are superglued in place after carefully adjusting for length. Straw sections will help keep epoxy from flowing up into the core of the pillars. They are cut short and will press into the core when the action is seated into the stock. Some epoxy still did get into the core which made me glad I caked the action screws and threads with wax before screwing it together.
XP-100R223bedding001.jpg

The foam is so soft on this stock that it's a simple matter to poke a 5/8" butterfly bit through it. Just stop when you feel resistance of bit spinning on the escutcheons.
XP-100R223bedding002.jpg

I tried something new for this job: Took one of the Brownells medium sized syringes and drilled the spout out from the rear with an 8" long 1/8 drill bit. Worked perfectly! I used it like a cake decorators tool to flow epoxy in just the right qtys wherever I wanted. I used Marine Tex for this project because I knew it would flow out of the 1/8" drilled tip. I came out so easily that I think Devcon would also work with this technique.
XP-100R223bedding004.jpg

Marine Tex applied and ready to seat the action. Using the syringe was so much faster, neater and more efficient than trying to paddle it on with a popsickle stick.
XP-100R223bedding005.jpg