Next Project: Savage 7WSM - HELP

Tarheelpwr

Hi,

I'll start off by saying I have NO experience with the 7 WSM other than playing with numbers online.

Anyways, here's what I'm after. Basically a relatively lightweight rig that can shoot deer sized game to 1k "ish" and elk sized to 500ish. The elk part is more of a bonus.

I'm looking to start with a DBM factory Savage donor rifle. I'm pretty open to either a long or short action. Really whatever makes my life easier on the build. So, my main questions are, what caliber donor to start with?

Are the WSM bolt heads the same as the mag bolt heads, or will I have to change out any bolt head I start with? (other than I assume 270/300 WSM?)

Will the 7 WSM cartridges feed out of pretty much any mag assembly, or are there specific calibers I should focus in on for the donor.

I'd also like to keep this semi-budget where I can. I'll get the action trued, top end barrel, but I'll likely go with a Boyds stock (bedded) since they have the new DBM option and a Minox 3-15x50 SA Scope.

thanks,
Chris

Hi,

I'll start off by saying I have NO experience with the 7 WSM other than playing with numbers online.

Anyways, here's what I'm after. Basically a relatively lightweight rig that can shoot deer sized game to 1k "ish" and elk sized to 500ish. The elk part is more of a bonus.

I'm looking to start with a DBM factory Savage donor rifle. I'm pretty open to either a long or short action. Really whatever makes my life easier on the build. So, my main questions are, what caliber donor to start with?

Are the WSM bolt heads the same as the mag bolt heads, or will I have to change out any bolt head I start with? (other than I assume 270/300 WSM?)

Will the 7 WSM cartridges feed out of pretty much any mag assembly, or are there specific calibers I should focus in on for the donor.