new to the sport and need some help sorting out the junk...

sporty061200r

Hello everyone, this is my first post and just to let everyone know right off the bat I am a beginner just getting into the sport... I just recently bought a new 2011 winchester coyote light .308 I am looking to outfit a scope on it and needed a bit of help sorting out what was needed and what was excess for my use..... I have been looking at leupolds vx3 lr/ nightforce 5.5x20x56/ and some leupolds mark 4's and last was at burris laser elimator.... but I am unsure of 2 things 1 the type of reticle the bdc reticles or the mil dot... I may want to move this scope in the future for a different caliber and would like to keep it fairly simple... my question is for a novice what do the people who have been doing it for a while recommend.. the main use of this gun right now will be at the range with maybee in the next 2 or 3 years a elk hunt or moose in canada? I am picky on quality and dont mind spending the money on quality optics/ I get tired of hearing for local guys that a 99.00 scope will work just fine

My experience has been that a $100 scope just adds $100 to the price of the good scope that we've gotta buy later on.

If you want a special reticle, Leupold and NF both have alot of options. I'd go with a 50 mm objective over the 56, unless you plan on alot of low light hunting with the scope on max power. 50mm is generally plenty for 95% of hunting during daylight hours, and the 56's are really big and have to be mounted higher on the gun.

If you plan on moving the scope to another gun at a later time, the mil or moa reticles are usually more versatile than a BDC reticle. They can be used on any gun of any caliber with any trajectory, and can be used as a rangefinder if the electonic one quits working in the middle of a hunt. They can also be used to measure target size if you already know the distance.

Best of luck,