New mexico oryx

midwesthunter

Anybody have any info on public land for these? I think I might start applying for this hunt even though its a long shot. Would rather do a DIY then through a outfitter. Anybody ever been?

My wife has an off range oryx hunt coming up in march. I will let you know how it goes. I will probably have to pay a trespass fee to get on some property where they are. They hunt the ones that are off range pretty hard because they don't want them off range. You can put in for the once in a lifetime hunt that is on range and have a better chance at getting a nice oryx.

I have hunted them a few times... Both on public land and on the military bases... What are you thinking? I will help were I can. I killed 38 inch bull on the WSMR a few years ago.. it is a great hunt but it can be tough...

J-

I graduated from Eastern New Mexico University while living in New Mexico for a few years. Oryx are beautiful animals that I always wished I had hunted while I was a resident but I was never able to put it together. I lived about an hour from where they were stocked into the desert. I hope you get to do it. Best of luck!

Go with the Once In A lifetime if you apply. The Off Range can be hard to find the animals if you do not have alot of time and know the areas. Great meat and like said a beuatiful animal!

Applied for Stallion Range Jan 10-12 2014...
Any info on range (distance) and caliber for these animals?
I harvested a NV bull Elk this past Nov with a hand loaded 200gr NAB, out of a Savage long range hunter 300WINmag. Stay the same or to heavy?