New member checking in.

Dhammer

We are getting ready to follow my wife's carrer which means a move. Possibly AZ or Texas right now are the top contenders from the Midwest. Hunting is my passion be it bird or deer. For the most part I've done it all with shotgun other then a few trips out to Nebraska hunting with a buddy from the miltary on his families and friend's land. I've got over 30 years of hunting experience. I have a 7 year old. I have been preparing him to start hunting once he gets a little older. Right now, he loves sitting in the blind, in the stand or working (his) dogs in the field with me.

The whole moving to a rifle state has me excited and worried. I got hurt a little 5 years ago. I suffered nerve damage and scar tissue to my lower spine. It plays hell on me. Activity of course aggravates the hell out of the nerves. My stalking up close and personel days are over. I physically cannot pack an animal out. So there's a whole bunch of details I haven't figured out since it all depends on where we end up. My end goal it to buy some hunting land to make it easier on me.

I've been trying to find that rifle/caliber which will be a good fit for me. Flat shooting, more accurate then me ;), easy on the recoil since it's something else that aggravates nerves. Plus who doesn't like new toys. I've thought about getting into some form of competition to give me something to do since I really miss shooting as much as I use to. I've worked up to 3 rounds of trap last year with a real light recoil load I loaded. 4 is just to much and makes for a few miserable days afterward.

As I was doing searches about rifles and calibers I kept ending up here. After a little bit of lurking I figured it was time to join.
Thanks for reading.

Welcome aboard. My suggestion is a 6.5x284 and you are good to go for flat shooting, low recoil gun that will work on most anything out west up to 1000 yards.gun)